高山右近・Ukon Takayama

マニラの右近; Ukon in Manila

高山右近(彦五郎) Ukon (Hikogoro’u) Takayama(1552?-1615)

利休七哲(りきゅうしちてつ)のひとり。

He is one of Rikyu’s 7 primary disciples – or Rikyu Shichitetsu.

父の高山友照はイエズス会宣教師を領地に初めて受け入れた大名のひとりでした。右近は1564年にジュストという名で洗礼を受けました。

His father, Tomoetsu Takayama, was one of the first da’imyo’u to welcome the Jesuit mission into his domain.  Ukon was baptized Justo in 1564.

1578年右近はキリスト教支持者であった信長の陣に加わりました。信長が暗殺された後山崎の戦いでは秀吉側に付きました。1585年には今日の兵庫県の一部にあたる明石の領地を受けましたが、秀吉の禁教令のため2年後にそれを失いました。秀吉は利休を右近に送りキリスト教を放棄させようとしたという話もありますが、成功しませんでした。

In 1578, he sided with Nobunaga whom he knew as a supporter of Christianity.  When Nobunaga was assassinated, he sided with Hideyoshi in the battle of Yamazaki.  In 1585, he received a domain of Akashi (part of present-day Hyogo Prefecture), but was dispossessed 2 years later as a result of Hideyoshi’s anti-Christian edict.  Hideyoshi allegedly sent Rikyu to try to have Ukon recant, but Rikyu was not successful.

家康のバテレン追放令により、右近は1614年に日本から追放され、1615年2月5日にマニラで死去しました。

Due to Ieyasu’s prohibition of Christianity, Ukon was banished from Japan in 1614.  He died in Manila on 5 February 1615.

[Source] Herbert Plutschow, “Rediscovering Rikyu – And The Beginnings of The Japanese Tea Ceremony” (Global Oriental, pub. 2003)
[参考] ヘルベルト・プルチョウ著「利休の再発見: そして日本における茶の湯の始まり」(Global Oriental, 2003年刷)

 



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.