茶の湯 in サンフランシスコ ・ Japanese Tea Ceremony を San Franciscoで

表千家四方社中の茶の湯ブログ Japanese Tea Ceremony Blog for Shikata Shachu – Omotesenke

古田織部・Oribe Furuta

Leave a comment


織部焼茶碗・Oribe ware chawan

古田織部(重然)  Oribe (Shigenari) Furuta (1543/4-1615)

利休七哲(りきゅうしちてつ)のひとり。

He is one of Rikyu’s 7 primary disciples – or Rikyu Shichitetsu.

武士で信長陣の一員であったことから茶や道具収集に興味を持ちました。本能寺で信長が暗殺された後、織部は山崎の戦いにおいては秀吉側の軍に加わりました。この後織部は秀吉の腹心のひとりとなりました。秀吉の死後、茶に関連する件については織部が家康の最高顧問となりました。その後二代将軍徳川秀忠の茶道指南役にもなりましたが、大坂の役夏の陣で豊臣氏に内通していたとのう疑いで切腹させらました。

As a samurai and one of Nobunaga’s allies, he developed an interest in tea and collecting tea utensils.  After Nobunaga was assassinated at the Hon’no’u-ji, Oribe joined the army in support of Hideyoshi during the battle of Yamazaki.  After the battle, Oribe became one of Hideyoshi’s confidants.  After Hideyoshi’s death, Oribe became Ieyasu’s chief adviser in tea matters.  Thereafter, he became a tea instructor for the second Sho’ugun Hidetada Tokugawa, but was ordered to commit a seppuku (harakiri) under a suspicion that he was secretly communicating with the Toyotomi clan during the Summer Siege of Osaka.

利休所有で牙蓋に自然のひびが入っている茶入がありました。利休はひびが見えないようにと茶入を客から遠ざけて置きました。その後利休はその茶入を織部に譲りました。織部が利休を茶に招待した際、織部はひびが見えないように茶杓をひびの上に置きました。織部が欠陥を利点に転じたとして利休は感心したそうです。

Rikyu once used a cha’ire with a lid made of ge with a natural flaw.  He placed the cha’ire away from the guests in order to hide the flaw.  Rikyu later gave that cha’ire to Oribe, and when Oribe invited Rikyu to tea, Oribe placed his chashaku on the flaw in the lid so that the flaw was not visible.  Rikyu was impressed with the way Oribe used the flaw to his advantage.

織部が最も革新的だったのは陶器製の茶道具のデザインでしょう。興味深くするために織部は意図的に道具の形をいびつにしました。形の茶碗は特に有名です。しかしながら織部と世代を同じくした茶人は必ずしも織部の革新を「気が紛れる」として受け入れませんでした。利休の代にもいびつな形の道具には人気がありましたが、これらは偶然変形したもので意図的なものではありませんでした。

Oribe was perhaps most innovative in his designs of ceramic tea utensils.  Oribe deliberately gave his utensils a crocked shape in order to make them more interesting.  His shoe-shaped tea bowls are his most famous.  Oribe’s contemporaries did not readily accept these innovations as “distracting.”  While irregularly shaped utensils had been popular under Rikyu, such utensils had been disfigured by accident – and not design.

五島美術館蔵に黒織部形茶碗があります。

Gotoh Museum has a black shoe-shaped Oribe chawan.

 

[Source] Herbert Plutschow, “Rediscovering Rikyu – And The Beginnings of The Japanese Tea Ceremony” (Global Oriental, pub. 2003)
[参考] ヘルベルト・プルチョウ著「利休の再発見: そして日本における茶の湯の始まり」(Global Oriental, 2003年刷)

 

Leave a Reply

